Flight Of The Kola

Contrary to what people would think  I have never sat in an aeroplane before (cant even spell it oh but thanks to auto correct). my very first flight was this Easter 2013 when upon request for transport to Kumasi a benevolent friend of mine offered me a boarding pass on Antrak Air to Kumasi. Aeroplane

being a typical road traveler i had actually planned on a road trip but getting home late the night before didn’t help matters that much since i could not force myself to sleep as i usually do when i intend to undertake a project such as a meeting or a travel or any appointments i have in the wee hours of the morning. from my previous post, it should be obvious by now that i don’t sleep that much at night and so getting home late with the intention of waking up in the morning to catch a bus, probably OA Tours or VIP to Kumasi is a tough one.

so invariably i overslept and at a time like this when everybody is heading out of Accra to spend Easter. it is Easter Thursday and as such one can imagine the traffic out of town especially to Kumasi that is my destination. so i made calls all over to see if i knew any transport owners or even drivers who i could call for any favors from. unfortunately the transport owners will not even commit at a time like this and the bus drivers were all very busy already on their way to Kumasi.

so here i was with no options than to wait and see what the Lord will do, as we say in Ghana. just when i had almost given up on travel on Holy Thursday, i get a call from a good friend of mine who works at Antrak Airline says she has called in a favor for me and a friend to fly on their airline to Kumasi. you can imagine my mixed feelings when she told me the condition was that i should get to the airport in the next two hours. whaat?? with the kinda traffic in Accra you never know how long it will take to get to a particular destination. moreover we had to do some rounds to get money to pay for the plane fare since the plane fare is way over the bus fare. to cut a long story short, we had to call to tell the check -in that we will be 20 minutes late and they were not agreeable but considering later events that the plane was delayed for over an hour due to bad weather, we would have had their necks if they had failed to let us board our flight. in local parlance we say ‘atika atika’ – we did it to them and they did it to us.

when i hear the word flight the first thing that comes to mind is the flight of a bird – no particular bird comes to mind but flight in general. so here i am sitting at the airport terminal waiting for my first flight ever and i am having mixed feelings. indeed, if i knew my way around  getting on an aeroplane i am sure i would not be this calm because the cashier at the Antrak Air counter just so pushed my buttons that i would have reacted in a different way. lucky her my anxiety would not allow me to add any other feelings to how i am already feeling.

yeah yeah yeah! you heard me right. me Kola i get anxious too. i am anxious about getting on an aeroplane. they say a little knowlege is a dangerous thing and in this case it is true. all the movies i have watched on plane crashes run through my mind, the various statistics about the safety of flying on an aircraft and the mental checking of the plane from the cockpit to the wings (under which lies the engines) to the back of the plane.  wow! sometimes being smart doesn’t augur well if you think you are a smart person. finally we get on board the plane and i am as calm as i can be. i have a saying that it is all in the mind and then i take my seat, say a prayer and i am ready to fly.

the plane taxis to the runway and i find myself just looking outside the window to see the view on the outside. i ask myself if really Ghana’s international airport is that desolate. interesting indeed. abandoned planes in one corner, stacked sand in another, ditches everywhere. what a sight! we get to taking off and for a moment my heart sinks and then i realize hey, i am airborne. my seat mate, a cute little missy smiles at me whilst she takes pictures and posts them on Instagram. hmm, that one too oh! i offer to be her photographer for the length of the journey and we keep each other company. she is a pretty interesting person and very good company during the duration of the flight. Accra looks overcrowded from above and as the plane heads out to sea i realize now why we are told that there are floating devices under the seats. truthfully, i never saw mine. i wasn’t paying attention. was rather mesmerized by the dazzling smile of my flight companion. kumasi is less sparsely populated as compared to Accra i observed coming in to land at the kumasi airport.

i notice when we are about land that the whole cabin of the plane has become kinda quiet. apparently there is always some sort of turbulence when the aircraft is coming down and folk are really scared with the movement and shaking of the plane. it’s all in the mind i tell myself as i take the soft hands of my flight companion in my hands to give her support. hmm what lovely nails i keep thinking. somebody’s back go suffer! the stories i have heard about the kumasi airport prove true when in landing the plane feels like a care rolling through a potholed road. wow! smooth landing? not possible on a tarmac that looks like any street in Accra. really couldn’t they have done any better? and this is even the renovated runway. kai! Ghana, land of our birth ampa.

one thing that i know for sure is that i will never give up road travel. i love traveling by road too much and the experiences are unparalleled. the meeting and interactions of people especially at the various rest stops. whereas on the plane, everyone almost keeps to themselves and if you don’t get an affable companion as a seat mate then you are doomed to silence for the duration of the flight.

another lesson learnt is that till date i had always thought that the term ‘free as a bird’ meant that one was free but upon facing turbulence i realize that even the birds do not have it easy. it has set me rethinking the paradigms of the statement ‘free as a bird’. depending on what kinda bird you are, you can even be a prey or a predator. even the skies have their own rules. nowhere cool really.

so Kola finally flies..

12 Responses to “Flight Of The Kola”

  1. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your website is great, as well
    as the content!

  2. Having read this I thought it was very informative.
    I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put this short article
    together. I once again find myself spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  3. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  4. Hello! I understand this is sort of off-topic however I needed
    to ask. Does operating a well-established blog such as yours require a large amount of work?
    I’m completely new to operating a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start
    a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new
    aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  5. Hi there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog
    in 3 completely different browsers and I must say
    this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  6. You’re funny Kola! I enjoy flying. And the quietness of the plane is one of its attractions. Nobody wants to be sitting next to someone who just talks and talks and talks the whole flight. Most of the time I use that time to sleep 🙂 You can get some good sleep.

    It’s the waiting for the plane that can be annoying. But being in an airport is always fascinating – imagining the lives of fellow passengers as they rush to and fro, pondering the philosophical ramifications of flight, of freedom, of movement, of transition — and I enjoy just being in that space.

    • my dear so far the Ghanaian flight i have been on has been nothing but quiet. you can still hear the drone of the engine as the plane is in the air. as for sleep, maybe on a longer flight but all this domestic flights are so short.
      and you know me too well. i love bust travel to the max even though it’s tiresome.

  7. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit
    my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  8. At this moment I am going away to do my breakfast,
    when having my breakfast coming over again to read more
    news.

  9. I have read some good stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for
    revisiting. I surprise how a lot attempt you set to
    make any such fantastic informative site.

Leave a Reply

