Relocation Retrospect

The month of May 2014 has been one of the toughest and most terrible in my life. Things have hit an all time low like never before and in every aspect of life there have been challenges.

Interestingly enough the same month has carried some untold blessings that have carried on to at least assuaged the low points and cause some highlights in the month.

Maybe it is because it is the anniversary month of my relocation of Tamale or it’s a general sense of foreboding that overshadows such activities. It could also be that I expected more from my relocation and it has proven to be a blowout.

I had my misgivings about the relocation but thinking all things being equal it was a new environment. The best of all being that I will have my sweetheart by me the whole time. No need to shuttle between cities ten hours apart just to get to snuggle with each other every other month or so.

I am pretty sure too things would have been different if the various factors were aligned together and going according to plan. Heck! These hardships will be none existent in the first place because it is true that money is the lever that pushes activities and it is the same money that acts as the grease.

With cash flow problems, it has become very prudent to be frugal in existence when being a city dweller I was so used to the blatant expenditure of cash for one thing or the other then later purchases or expenditure proved unreliable or unwanted in order of priority.

Truly I find myself looking at things in a different way and valuing more the quality of cash and how much goods and services I can exchange that cash for. My high school economics is seriously at play here now than ever.

After all it is not only me but it is the whole Ghanaian economy that is suffering. Mineral prices are going high, essential commodities cost more and the currency is devaluing faster than a giant cursed by a witch to become a dwarf.

Since it is a general problem I won’t say much about it but as I await my birthday I will find ways of surviving in this terrain and so should you. No need to wait for government policies and initiatives (we all know how that usually ends) but as individuals take the bull by the horns and survive for yourself.

Like I always say it begins with YOU!

Gear Up!

Leave a Reply

