An African City: A Ghanaian Series

There are times when you’re pretty bored and then you resort to only watching television and movies. But today the antennae is not working and then I resort to the external drive I see lying around the house. It is not mine but my brother’s but hey I needed to watch something on this big screen to keep myself busy. So I connect the external drive and then go straight to series and I have always gone past the first in the list since the title sounded like an African movie and I’m not too much a fan of African movies.

But today I tell myself what the heck lemme see that folder and wow! Ain’t I bowled over. Enough to even write a blog article about it.

An African City is actually a serialized set of thematic short stories about 5 single Ghanaian girls who have lived abroad most of their lives and have now returned home to Ghana to settle down and their experiences.

From everyday life through to finding jobs and also dating men they meet in Ghana these gals sit down and they also discuss social issues that pertain to Ghana and Africa as a whole.

What I pretty much love about this particular series is that there are factual presentations in the narration such as wanting Ghana to be the gateway to West Africa when there are bottlenecks in customs that need fixing for example.

Much as I’m not one to compare this series rivals any series from any part of the world and it’s especially modeled on the likes of Single Ladies, but this we can relate to as Ghanaians pretty much.

The locations, music and casting for the series is on point and to see some known faces in there not too shocking because these are intelligent people I’ve interacted with individually and on social media and I’m really hurt that none of them told me to watch out for the drama series.

Next time I see any of them I’m gonna pull their ears.  Lol

Liberal Sade, Community development advocate Zainab, Barrister Makenna, Nana Yaa and the vegetarian Ngozi are representative of the modern liberated African woman exposed to the cosmopolitan global world and yes this is what we should be used to seeing around.

It is time we accepted that the African woman wrapped in wax prints in a collar sweating at the coal fire has morphed into this highly educated, ambitious, driven and very independent woman like any other woman in any part of the world. 

Indeed An African City is really an expose on how returnees, not just women, feel when they come home to settle down. I’d like to see more episodes of this series.

Indeed I sincerely hope that this article looks clean enough and has no diseases because I only write about what I like with no holds barred.
(Re: the episode with the ministerial committee for health and trade)

Moreover, it is about time we started appreciating our own productions and not these telenovelas that are flooding our screens. The choice is ours.

Don’t take my word for it, check it out yourself.
Facebook: An African City
Twitter: #AnAfricanCity

Like I always say it begins with YOU!

DISCLAIMER:
This is not a review

Leave a Reply

