Life @40

image

It is a cliche that it is said that life begins  at forty but then how many have ideally given a thought to what has gone on in a person’s life before they got to that ripe age of forty. What are some of the dreams that the person has or had, have these dreams been achieved, what about fulfilment? Are they fulfilled as forty year olds.

Growing up we all had dreams of “becoming somebody in future” and these dreams were usually tied to age specifics. Oh! I want to finish high school by age 20 then university by 24, Masters by 27 and then get married by 30. Within this age bracketed dreams and aspirations there are some basic things that needed to be achieved as a done deal and this especially, most especially, includes financial freedom. It is only when you have financial freedom that you can dictate your own life obviously.

But here is a case this is Ghana and Africa and even at 45 some people are staying with their parents. African parents also have the mental configuration that “once you’re staying under my roof you live by my rules.” It is not so surprising that there is an anecdote going around on social media where a woman berated her boyfriend to move out of his parents house and he retorts that even Jesus was still living with his parents till he died.

Thats the African setting I’m referring to.

But generally that’s not the status quo. There are forty year olds who have achieved much in life and are fulfilled in what they do. The global economy has created an expansion of expression of ideas and talents that have made people rich thanks to capitalism and fortitude. At forty at least there should be something tangible that a person could say that they have done and if there is not it doesn’t mean the person has been a total failure but it still depends on what sort of ventures such a person has gone into.

Forty at least signifies a wealth of experience.

So yes here I am at forty and I look back and realize that there is nothing really tangible to show for it. There are no houses, no fleet of cars, no string of mistresses and girlfriends, no treasuries or bonds in millions and oh! Not even a wardrobe of shiny suits to boast of.  Not even a bicycle tyre or even a car jerk. What I life!

If you’re thinking I’m aspiring to be a guru of some sort and therefore shunning all material stuff think again.  I like the finer things in life and wont turn down the luxuries unless they come with a price of compromising my principles.

Was recently at the birthday celebration of one forty year old dude and noticed that the current trend in the capital for that age bracket was bald heads, grey beards neatly trimmed and the opulent display of pot bellies. Wow! People I knew who were skinniest back in school were now all “living large” and inasmuch as it is the current trend I was still taken aback. Furthermore it was like a competition of sorts who drove the latest model of a particular car, who had the best toys or who was “running” the finest mistresses and how much they spent on them..
Interesting indeed!

So yes I have a totally bald head by choice, my face is clean shaven half the time and I only get grey in my beard when I’m in Accra (must be something in the air) but God forbid I’d ever get a pot belly although I have a feeling I’m inching closer. 

Being a forty year old in Ghana now is an arduous task with lots of responsibility and obligations. People work hard and find ways of making it sometimes to meet the status quo and some don’t even make it. As my dad will say even though we are not young anymore this is the time to work hard and plan the future for retirement. Very soon that zeal to achieve will be there but not the strength to pursue what you really want to do.

Some people have chose the material, others have chosen their own path but for this forty year old I have chosen to invest in people. I believe everybody has the chance to better their lot and situation and everybody that I come into contact with should leave a better person. Well, it doesn’t make sense to many because it doesn’t make sense to me too but God being my helper that is what I have set out to do and been doing for years now.

It is not financially rewarding. If anything at all it is rather financially draining and thus very difficult a task but then someway somehow it always gets done and it is very fulfilling.

So I might not have a car, a house, plenty mistresses and girlfriends or the latest toys thus I obviously cant be in the competition with anybody as to what I have and don’t have but yes I’m happy. Seeing the smile on another person’s face after you have said a word of encouragement or exhortation or just helped out with your last one Ghana knowing you’re going to walk home makes me walk with a spring in my step on my way home.

My greatest thanks is to God for strength to lead a purpose driven life and for a patient wife who stands by me in all I do and will once a while chide me for being silly when I should be wise. I’m just a boy at heart going through life one day at a time.

Indeed life begins at forty and why the heck does my spell check keep spelling forty as “empty”. Must be a sign.  Maybe it means I’m at empty and I should just let God fill me up.

Come on the journey through life with me and let’s let go and let God.

Like a always say it begins with YOU!

3 Responses to “Life @40”

  1. I love this part ‘ I bviously cant be in the competition with anybody as to what I have and don’t have but yes I’m happy. Seeing the smile on another person’s face after you have said a word of encouragement or exhortation or just helped out with your last one Ghana knowing you’re going to walk home makes me walk with a spring in my step on my way home.
    My greatest thanks is to God for strength’

Leave a Reply

