Parenthesis

This article is inspired by a trip i took to the western region of Ghana specifically Takoradi which shaped my formative years in the seven years that I spent there as an adolescent and parts of my teenage. Psychologists will tell you that the age bracket between 11 and 17 are the ones that shape a person’s character most and for me these years were spent in high school as a little toddy getting bullied in my early teenage years and being a bibliophile not only nerdy but curious about a whole lot of stuff.

Takoradi formed me and holds many memories, mostly pretty cos all the bad ones are attributed to learning opportunities and therefore going back there after all these twenty something years is a milestone.

So I’m sitting in the bus waiting for it to get full with the other passengers so we move and this pretty older woman gets on board. She looks pretty familiar but I just sit in my seat quietly and look on. Once a while she turns in my direction and we smile at each other.  That I’m in the seat behind her gives me the chance to just observe and do whatever I have to do whilst trying to find a way to check if she really is who I think it is or this is probably a clone of who I think it is.

Ghana these days, you ask am older woman a question and she’s gonna suspect you have it in for her and swat you with her purse. I find it interesting through that in their very suspicion that your target is their purse it is very thing that they will use to defend themselves without recourse that the person could just snatch it.

But let’s leave that one.

Luckily for me the car stops at a filling station to refuel and whilst she’s making way to others to get off and do whatever they’re gonna do I ask casually if she was ever a nurse. She replies in the affirmative.  This woman is the mother of the most stubborn and most adventurous boy among my peer group when we were growing up. She is the most patient mother I know.

Back when we were growing up and in primary school her son was the instigator of most to the rowdy acts in the area. We were just stubborn and very adventurous. We raided people’s backyard gardens and farms for vegetables, undertook forays into people’s walled houses for ripe fruits such as mangoes and guavas and the best ones were gold fishing expeditions. Did i mention that once a while we formed a team to go partake in soccer fiestas in the locality? Those were the days of yore.

All this activities were mostly led by M the instigator. His favorite tormentor was the deaf and dumb man who had a vegetable garden not too far from the nurses flats we lived at. we just loved to torment him and sometimes just destroy his crops and run away. We also helped ourselves to the sugarcane that was in abundance in his farm.

With all this you can imagine the complaints this woman got from everywhere and how other parents didn’t want their children associating with M the Instigator since they thought he was a bad influence. His mother took all this in her stride and i am happy to announce that M lives abroad with his wife and family and when we talked about him her excitement at the mention of his name was obvious.

You’d agree with me and  my area boys too would, that our mothers are the most influential people and shaped who we have become today.  Mothers deserve vacation resorts but they will tell you they will be bored because their whole life is made up of chasing recalcitrant children around and when these children grow then it’s the grandchildren they will be chasing.

Thank you to all mothers. If you just finished reading this and like it or not, HUG A MOTHER.

It begins with YOU!

One Response to “Parenthesis”

  1. It’s very unfortunate I could not find any mother to hug. But right up there, I hug her with my heart every passing minute. I love you mummy. You were the best and still my best.

Leave a Reply

